Skip to main content
Version: 6.19

Time booking

Time booking is used for reporting to track the effort of the users when working in the Web Client. Time bookings can be created manually by the users or take place automatically when the users perform certain actions.

Manual time booking

Manual time bookings is created by the users in the Web Client. It is available in two places:

  • User menu: The Time booking page in the user menu allows the users to create time bookings for any case for which they have append permissions (see Permissions for cases). In addition, it shows the users' time bookings. If the user has the administrator or Report all users' time bookings permission, there is a second tile showing all time bookings.
  • Case page: The Time booking tile allows the users to create time bookings for the current case.

In both places the users can enter the time either manually by filling the Start and End or Duration field or select an action which comes with the duration. Afterwards, they need to select a project and click the Save time booking button. Correcting a time booking is possible via the Edit icon if the user has the permission Edit own time bookings.

Editing other users' bookings

You can grant the permission Edit all users' time bookings if users should modify time bookings of other users. Administrators can edit all bookings.

You need to perform the following steps to configure manual time booking:

  1. Create one or several projects on the Projects page.
  2. Assign the projects to the desired queues in the Projects tab of the Queues page.
  3. Enable manual time booking on the Time bookings page by setting Enable manual time booking in cases to True.

In addition, you can make the following settings on the Time bookings page:

  • Show time booking page in the user profile: Decide if the Time booking page should be available in the user menu.
  • Allow export of time bookings: Decide if the time booking tables should have an option to export the bookings as CSV files.
  • Show last actions when adding a time booking: Decide if the duration of the user's last actions should be shown in the Booking method selector.
  • Time period for editing time bookings (in days): Decide for how long users with the respective permissions can edit time bookings.

Automatic time booking

Automatic time bookings are created automatically when the users perform one of the following actions on a case:

  • Working in the comment and email editor: The period between opening the editor and saving the comment or email is booked.
  • Creating a case: The period between opening the page to create a case and saving the case is booked.

If the case is transferred to the workspace and work is resumed later, the period while the case is in the workspace is not booked. No time is booked if the action is canceled or the session ends.

The Time booking page in the user menu shows a list of the time bookings in different periods. Automatic time bookings are not linked to projects.

You need to perform the following step to configure automatic time booking:

  1. Enable automatic time booking on the Time bookings page by setting Enable automatic time booking to True.